Certificate Accreditation

In addition to degree programs in Health Informatics and Health Information Management, CAHIIM offers other types of accreditation as well.

The length of certificate accreditation is currently 7 years, after which programs will have to undergo re-evaluation.

If your program is interested in CAHIIM accreditation, but is not listed here, please reach out to to discuss accreditation options.

For information about Digital Health Professional/Leader certificate programs, please click the link below.
CAHIIM accredits certificate programs in the following areas:
  • Change Management
  • Clinical Documentation Improvement 
  • Consumer Health Informatics
  • Emergency and Disaster Recovery
  • Employee Management and Supervision
  • Health Data Science
  • Health Informatics*
  • Health Information Technology*
  • Health Insurance Customer Service 
  • Healthcare Data Analytics
  • Healthcare Financial Management
  • Healthcare Operations Management
  • Healthcare Privacy
  • Healthcare Release of Information
  • Healthcare Security
  • Higher Education Administration
  • Leadership in Healthcare Industry
  • Nomenclature, Classification, and Medical Coding
  • Physician Practice Management 
  • Project Management 
  • Provider Credentialing Specialist 
  • Public Health Informatics
  • Quality Improvement 
  • Revenue Cycle Integrity
  • Rural Health Administration
  • Strategic Leadership
  • Telehealth Administration
  • ...and more.
This is not an exhaustive list of certificates that CAHIIM accredits.  If a certificate program not listed here would like to seek CAHIIM accreditation, please reach out to CAHIIM at for more information or click on the button to apply below.

*Standards for Health Informatics and Health Information Technology certificates are currently under revision, and applications are on hold for these two areas.  We expect to reopen applications for these two areas in January 2024.